Dossier · Sponsored partner
Upcomers is a prop-trading challenge provider that markets large funding ceilings, a high profit split, and rapid payouts across a broad product line.
The Prop Examiner verdict-in-brief
Broad product line and a genuinely high split on Thunderbolt funded; trailing drawdown and heavy 'up to' framing are the trade-offs.
99%
Profit split (up to)
$39
Entry price (from)
$1.5M
Max funding (headline)
Scorecard
Five dimensions, scored 0–5
4.2
avg
Pricing & value
4.0/5
Profit split
5.0/5
Payout speed
5.0/5
Rules flexibility
3.0/5
Transparency
4.0/5
Advertised vs verified
Advertised claims vs what we could verify. “Up to” figures are maximums; rows flagged verify before launch are unconfirmed.
Every figure traces to the cited & dated sources below.
What actually binds you
Where challenges are won or lost — sourced from Upcomers’s own pages. Rules vary by product; the per-plan breakdown follows.
| Phase / model | Rule | Published value |
|---|---|---|
| Challenge | Profit target | 5% net profit |
| Challenge | Daily loss limit | 6% max within a single day |
| Challenge | Overall loss limit (Dynamic Risk Shield) | 10% below highest equity (trailing) |
| Challenge | Minimum trading days | None |
| Challenge | Consistency / Best Day Rule | Does not apply |
| Funded | Daily loss limit | 3% max daily loss |
| Funded | Overall loss limit (Dynamic Risk Shield) | 6% below peak equity (trailing) |
| Funded | Max risk per trade | 3% of initial balance (hard breach) |
| Funded | Consistency (Best Day Rule) | No single day > 20% of total withdrawal (soft) |
| Funded | Profit split | 99% to trader |
| Funded | Withdrawal requirement | Reach 1% profit on initial balance first |
Rules shown are for the Thunderbolt 1-step product, verified from the official help center. Rules differ by product — instant-funding products (e.g. Vanguard) use different drawdown and first-payout terms. Always check the specific product before buying.
EAs, algos, bots & copy trading
MIXED — EAs/bots welcomed when genuinely unique and responsible, but identical/mass-distributed EAs, emulators, HFT and sub-2-min tick scalping are banned and trades are auto-flagged for similarity.
| Policy area | What the firm states |
|---|---|
| Expert Advisors (EAs) | Limited — "Expert Advisors, trading bots and automated tools are allowed when they represent a real, unique and responsible strategy"; EA settings must be customized to your own style and not run identical/near-identical to other traders on the same EA. |
| Algorithmic trading | Limited — algorithmic/automated tools permitted when they reflect a genuine, unique, responsible strategy; emulators and abuse of the simulated environment are banned. |
| Copy trading | Limited — replicating trades across accounts you personally own is allowed (including other firms/brokers/multiple Upcomers accounts); copying between accounts owned by different individuals (incl. relatives/friends) is prohibited in both directions. |
| HFT / tick scalping | Banned — HFT ("rapid execution of a large number of trades within extremely short timeframes, often in milliseconds"), tick scalping (avg holding times below 2 minutes likely flagged), and latency trading (exploiting delayed market data / execution delays) all prohibited. |
| Trading bots / AI | Limited — bots/automated tools allowed if a real, unique, responsible strategy; publicly sold "prop firm passing" bots, one-shot challenge bots, and mass-distributed EAs that generate identical trades across users may be treated as prohibited; emulators banned. |
| News trading | Allowed — news trading is permitted across programs per the program-comparison common terms. |
| Automation platforms | Automation-capable platform list (MT4/MT5 EAs, cTrader cBots, etc.) not explicitly enumerated on the prohibited-strategies or copy-trading articles reviewed.verify |
Verbatim policy from Upcomers. Items flagged verify are unconfirmed — check the firm’s terms for your product. Educational information, not trading advice.
Looking to compare automation rules across firms? See our best prop firms for AI, algo & EA trading ranking.
What you trade on & what binds the funded account
What binds a funded account: platforms, post-funding consistency, scaling, refunds, time and position limits, weekend / news rules. Each value links its ↗ source; = explainer; verify = unconfirmed.
Trading platforms provided
Payouts & timing
Payout frequency
On-demand once eligible — must generate ≥1% profit from initial balance before each withdrawal request (threshold resets per payout). Instant programs gate withdrawal eligibility on N profitable days (≥0.5% each).
First payout
No fixed day-count on the payout-structure page; gated by the ≥1% profit threshold (Instant programs require N profitable days first). Exact first-payout timing not stated as a day count. verify
Payout methods
Bank/IBAN transfer (19.9 USD + 2.49% processing) or Crypto (19.9 USD + 30%, reduced to 2.49% if the account was funded with crypto).
Payout speed
KYC verification ~2–4 min; exact post-request processing time not stated on official pages. verify
Profit-split scaling
Flat 99% split across all sizes/programs — does NOT scale up; it is already the firm's top split.
Payout / profit cap
Yes — tiered first-payout caps that rise each cycle. $100K example: 1st $1,000 (1%) · 2nd $2,000 · 3rd $3,000 · 4th $4,000 · 5th $5,000 · 6th $6,250 · 7th $7,500. After the 7th payout the account resets to initial balance and becomes UNLIMITED (no cap) via individual agreement (8th+).
Refundable fee
No fee refund. Instead, a bonus of 200% of the original Challenge fee is added to the payout balance AFTER the 3rd successful payout (must be requested manually; not automatic). Applies to Challenge programs only (Ash, Thunderbolt, Phoenix, Astral, Obsidian, Eon), NOT Instant. (Some sources also cite a 5% bonus on first funded payout.)
Funded-account rules & cost
Cost
Cheapest entry is the Bootcamp-style low tiers / Thunderbolt firm example "$39 for $5,000"; $100K reference ladder (promo-dependent): Eon $139 < Obsidian $169 < Astral $199 < Phoenix $249. Per-size ladders rotate with promos (90% OFF / SPRING90 active 2026-06-17). verify
Payment methods (to buy)
Card (Visa/Mastercard) and crypto are the standard checkout options; crypto-funded accounts get a reduced payout fee (2.49% vs 30%), indicating crypto is a first-class purchase method. Full method list not enumerated on official help pages. verify
Time limit
No evaluation time limit (min trading days not required on most programs). Exceptions are the time-boxed Instant variants: Supernova = 24h session, Hypernova = 4h session.
Max position / lot limit
Per-trade risk caps apply on funded/instant (e.g. Thunderbolt/Phoenix/Astral funded = 3% per single trade hard breach; Vanguard/Oracle instant = 2% per trade; Supernova/Hypernova = 1% per trade). No fixed lot-count cap surfaced. verify
14 plans · per-plan detail
Every plan’s model, rules and size/price matrix. Compare against other firms →
Dedicated plan guides
One-step evaluation with up to 99% profit split and a 2% profit target — suited to confident traders who want funding quickly without a second phase.
Sizes & price
| Account size | Entry price |
|---|---|
| Up to $1,000,000 | Not statedverify |
"The gentlest way in" — lowest profit target. Research model: half-step.
Rules sourced from official pages — Ash rules hub. Promo terms change; confirm at checkout.
Educational definitions only — not trading advice, and no outcome is guaranteed. The exact meaning of any rule depends on the firm’s own terms for your specific product; always verify there before relying on it.
Want the full reference? See the prop-firm rule glossary.
The field, in bars
Headline (“up to”) maximum vs the field — ceilings gated behind tiers or scaling, not what every trader gets.
Balanced view
Strengths
Cons & open risks
Do this first
Confirm each of these for your exact product:
The Prop Examiner
Upcomers documents its rules publicly and offers an unusually broad product line with a genuinely high split on its Thunderbolt funded product. The trade-offs are a trailing “Dynamic Risk Shield” drawdown that is less forgiving than a static limit, heavy reliance on “up to” headline figures, and promo pricing that shifts. It is a reasonable option to compare if you read the rules for your exact product, treat the headline numbers as ceilings, and start with the smallest suitable plan.
Affiliate link
From the community
No trader reviews yet. Traded with Upcomers? Be the first to share an honest, moderated review.
Common questions
Cited & dated
Every figure traces to a Upcomers source below, accessed on the date shown. Re-verify before relying on any number — pricing and promos change.
Sponsored · firm-neutral
Every firm gets the same labelled slot. Sponsorship never affects our rating or verdict.
In our best-of lists
Upcomers appears in these sourced rankings — see how it stacks up against the field.
Firm vs firm
See how Upcomers stacks up against the most-researched firms — split, pricing, payouts and rules, side by side.
Keep comparing