Dossier · Sponsored partner
FTMO is one of the longest-running and most widely reviewed prop firms, built around 1-step and 2-step evaluations with a published reward and scaling plan.
The Prop Examiner verdict-in-brief
The established benchmark: long track record, transparent objectives, documented scaling plan; $200K per-account ceiling before scaling.
90%
Profit split (up to)
$155
Entry price (from)
$200K
Max funding (headline)
Scorecard
Five dimensions, scored 0–5
4.0
avg
Pricing & value
3.0/5
Profit split
4.0/5
Payout speed
4.0/5
Rules flexibility
4.0/5
Transparency
5.0/5
Advertised vs verified
Advertised claims vs what we could verify. “Up to” figures are maximums; rows flagged verify before launch are unconfirmed.
Every figure traces to the cited & dated sources below.
What actually binds you
Where challenges are won or lost — sourced from FTMO’s own pages. Rules vary by product; the per-plan breakdown follows.
| Phase / model | Rule | Published value |
|---|---|---|
| 1-Step | Profit target | 10% |
| 2-Step | Profit target | 10% (phase 1) + 5% (phase 2) |
| 1-Step | Daily loss limit | 3% |
| 2-Step | Daily loss limit | 5% |
| All | Max loss | 10% (1-Step uses end-of-day trailing) |
| 2-Step | Minimum trading days | 4 days |
Rules verified from FTMO's official how-it-works and trading-objectives pages on the access date. Some objective details (e.g. 1-Step min days, consistency rules) were not exposed in the summary and should be re-confirmed on FTMO's pages.
EAs, algos, bots & copy trading
GOOD — EAs and algorithmic trading explicitly welcomed across MT4/MT5/cTrader, with the main constraints being no third-party account access/copy trading, no AI/ultra-high-speed unfair-advantage tools, and server-request hyperactivity caps.
| Policy area | What the firm states |
|---|---|
| Expert Advisors (EAs) | Allowed — FTMO explicitly permits EAs ("whether it's discretionary trading, algorithmic trading, EAs, etc."), provided trading is legitimate, conforms to real market conditions, and does not resemble forbidden practices; EAs causing more than ~2,000 server requests/day (hyperactivity) are restricted. |
| Algorithmic trading | Allowed — algorithmic trading is named as an explicitly permitted approach, subject to the same legitimacy/real-market and anti-abuse conditions. |
| Copy trading | Banned (third-party) — "You must not allow any third party to access or otherwise use your FTMO Account" and may not have a third party perform simulated trades for you; using the same EA as many others can also breach max capital allocation. |
| HFT / tick scalping | Banned — forbidden practices bar use of "any software, artificial intelligence, ultra-high-speed tools, or mass data entry that might manipulate, abuse, or give you an unfair advantage" (covers HFT/latency-style exploitation). |
| Trading bots / AI | Limited — automated/EA bots allowed if legitimate and not hyperactive; AI / ultra-high-speed tools used to gain an unfair advantage are explicitly forbidden. |
| News trading | Restricted — forbidden-practices framing restricts trading around major scheduled news/macro/corporate events and within two hours or less before a relevant market closes for at least two hours. |
| Automation platforms | MetaTrader 4 & MetaTrader 5 (EAs via "Allow automated trading") and cTrader (cTrader Automate — robots/indicators in C#/Python); server limits ~200 orders at a time and ~2,000 positions/day. |
Verbatim policy from FTMO. Items flagged verify are unconfirmed — check the firm’s terms for your product. Educational information, not trading advice.
Looking to compare automation rules across firms? See our best prop firms for AI, algo & EA trading ranking.
What you trade on & what binds the funded account
What binds a funded account: platforms, post-funding consistency, scaling, refunds, time and position limits, weekend / news rules. Each value links its ↗ source; = explainer; verify = unconfirmed.
Trading platforms provided
Payouts & timing
Payout frequency
On-demand after the first reward — the FTMO Account runs on a flexible profit-split schedule; you choose your own payout day from the dashboard once eligible (no forced fixed cycle after the first).
First payout
First reward claimable on or after the 14th day from your first funded trade (you may also shift the payout day to align future cycles).
Payout speed
Reward requests are typically processed quickly (within ~1–2 business days); arrival time then depends on the chosen method. verify
Profit-split scaling
Yes. 1-Step funded = 90% from the start. 2-Step funded = starts 80%, scales to 90% via the Scaling Plan. Scaling Plan: +25% balance every qualifying 4-month cycle (≥4 months active, ≥10% total net profit in window, ≥2 rewards processed, positive balance), cap $2,000,000; split rises 80%→90%.
Payout / profit cap
No cap on the first payout amount surfaced (no maximum-first-payout limit found on official pages). Minimum closed profit to withdraw: $20 (bank) / $50 (crypto). First reward claimable on/after day 14 from first funded trade. verify
Refundable fee
2-Step — entry fee IS refunded, paid with the first Reward withdrawal via the original payment method (one fee covers both stages). 1-Step — entry fee is NOT refunded.
Funded consistency rule
No standing consistency rule on the funded FTMO Account beyond the Best Day Rule. The Best Day Rule (best single day ≤ 50% of total Positive Days' Profit) is payout-gated, not account-gated — exceeding it holds the payout request until additional positive days dilute the ratio; it does NOT breach. (On the 1-Step product the Best Day Rule applies in both challenge and funded phases; 2-Step shows no Best Day Rule.)
Funded-account rules & cost
Cost
Per-size fees not pulled from a live FTMO checkout (pricing page 404s to fetch). Widely-cited 2026 fees ≈ $155 ($10K) / $250 ($25K) / $345 ($50K) / $540 ($100K) / $1,080 ($200K). verify
Payment methods (to buy)
Credit/debit card, bank wire transfer, crypto (BTC, ETH, LTC, USDC ERC20, USDT TRC20), plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal, Skrill, and processors Checkout.com / Confirmo / LetKnow Pay / Nuvei. Bank transfer unavailable in some regions (e.g. Venezuela, Cuba, Sudan, Ukraine).
Time limit
Unlimited time for both evaluation phases (trade at your own pace). 2-Step requires a minimum of 4 trading days per phase; 1-Step has no minimum-days requirement.
Inactivity rule
30 calendar days with no trade on a funded account is treated as a breach and the account is terminated (must restart from a new Challenge). A trader can request an account "freeze" (pause) for planned absences (e.g. holiday).
Max position / lot limit
No fixed lot/contract cap surfaced; risk constrained via the 5%/3% daily and 10% max-loss limits plus prohibited "excessive sizing" / non-replicable-risk practices. Standard EA cap: >2,000 server requests/day prohibited. verify
Weekend / overnight holding
Evaluation (1-Step challenge + both 2-Step phases): overnight & weekend holding allowed without restriction. Funded FTMO Account, Standard type: must close all positions before weekend market close and before any rollover/swap period exceeding 2 hours. Swing account type: weekend/overnight holding allowed (no restriction).
2 plans · per-plan detail
Every plan’s model, rules and size/price matrix. Compare against other firms →
Dedicated plan guides
One-step evaluation with up to 90% profit split and a 10% profit target — suited to confident traders who want funding quickly without a second phase. It's also among the more automation-friendly options for EAs and algos.
Sizes & price
| Account size | Entry price |
|---|---|
| $10K | ≈$155 (widely-cited 2026 fee)verify |
| $25K | ≈$250 (widely-cited 2026 fee)verify |
| $50K | ≈$345 (widely-cited 2026 fee)verify |
| $100K | ≈$540 (widely-cited 2026 fee)verify |
| $200K | ≈$1,080 (widely-cited 2026 fee)verify |
1-Step fee is NOT refunded on passing (only 2-Step is). EOD trailing + 50% Best Day Rule make this the stricter product to manage.
Rules sourced from official pages — 1-Step Challenge rules hub. Promo terms change; confirm at checkout.
Two-step evaluation with up to 90% profit split and a 10% profit target — suited to steady, risk-controlled traders happy to prove consistency over two phases. It's also among the more automation-friendly options for EAs and algos.
Sizes & price
| Account size | Entry price |
|---|---|
| $10K | Not statedverify |
| $25K | Not statedverify |
| $50K | Not statedverify |
| $100K | Not statedverify |
| $200K | Not statedverify |
Static max-loss is easier to manage than the 1-Step's EOD-trailing limit. Fee fully refunded on first payout. Scaling Plan: 80% → 90% split, +25% balance per qualifying 4-month cycle, cap $2,000,000.
Rules sourced from official pages — 2-Step Challenge rules hub. Promo terms change; confirm at checkout.
Educational definitions only — not trading advice, and no outcome is guaranteed. The exact meaning of any rule depends on the firm’s own terms for your specific product; always verify there before relying on it.
Want the full reference? See the prop-firm rule glossary.
The field, in bars
Headline (“up to”) maximum vs the field — ceilings gated behind tiers or scaling, not what every trader gets.
Balanced view
Strengths
Cons & open risks
Do this first
Confirm each of these for your exact product:
The Prop Examiner
FTMO is the established benchmark in this space: a long track record, transparent objectives, and a documented scaling plan. The main limitations are a $200K per-account ceiling before scaling and a 1-Step fee that is not refunded. We could not confirm live pricing without entering checkout, so price-shop on the day you buy.
Affiliate link
From the community
No trader reviews yet. Traded with FTMO? Be the first to share an honest, moderated review.
Common questions
Cited & dated
Every figure traces to a FTMO source below, accessed on the date shown. Re-verify before relying on any number — pricing and promos change.
Sponsored · firm-neutral
Every firm gets the same labelled slot. Sponsorship never affects our rating or verdict.
In our best-of lists
FTMO appears in these sourced rankings — see how it stacks up against the field.
Firm vs firm
See how FTMO stacks up against the most-researched firms — split, pricing, payouts and rules, side by side.
Keep comparing